Creation and status

The Radio and Television Supreme Council founded in 1994 as an administratively and financially autonomous and impartial public legal authority for the regulation and supervision of radio, television and on demand media services which are under the jurisdiction of Republic of Turkey.

The Law No: 6112 on the Establishment of Radio and Television Enterprises and Their Media Services, regulates the establishment, organization, duties, competences and responsibilities of the Radio and Television Supreme Council. The Law No: 6112, prepared by RTÜK taken into consideration the Audiovisual Media Services Directive 2010/13/EU and with the participation of all parties of the sector, adopted by the Turkish Parliament on 15 February 2011 and entered into force on March 3, 2011.

In the field of audio-visual media services, the main function of the Supreme Council is taking essential precautions for securing :

  • Freedom of expression and information
  • Diversity of opinion
  • Media pluralism
  • Competition environment for avoiding media concentration
  • Protecting public interests


The Supreme Council is composed of nine members who ar elected by the Turkish Parliament from among the nominees on the basis of the number of MPs of each political party.

The term of the members is six years. one thirds of members are biennially renewed. The members elect a President and Deputy President from among  themselves. The term of office of the President is two years.

The main services units of the Supreme Council are : Department of Monitoring and Evaluation, Department of Permits and Allocations, International Relations Department, Department of Public Opinion, Broadcast Research and Measurement and Strategy Development Department,

The support services units are: Human Resources and training Department, Department of Information Technologies and Department of Administrative Affairs. the advisory service unit is Legal Consultancy. Press and Publis Relations reports directly to the President.

RTUK is located in Ankara. Upon a resolution of the Supreme Council representative offices were opened in Istanbul, Izmir and Diyarbakir where substantial broadcasting activities are intensive.


  • Ebubekir Sahin, President
  • Esat Ciplak, Vice-President
  • Arif Firtina, Member
  • Hamit Ersoy, Member
  • Ismet Özdal Demirdögen, Member
  • Nürullah Öztürk, Member
  • Ilhan Tasçi, Member
  • Ilhan Yerlikaya, Member
  • Taha Yücel, Member


In order to achieve its primary objectives, Supreme Council;

  • Monitors and supervises the broadcasts of media service providers, to impose relevant sanctions in case any infringement of Law No: 6112.
  • Makes and deploys the television channel and radio frequency planning in the framework of frequency bands for the terrestrial radio and television broadcasts,
  • Determines the required administrative, financial and technical standards for a broadcast license; grants broadcast licenses to those of such companies which fulfill the required qualifications; supervises them and revokes the broadcast licenses when required,
  • Determines the procedures and principles for the execution and the supervision of the viewing or listening rating measurements of the media services,
  • Performs other functions and uses its powers determined by the Law No: 6112.


Radio and Television Supreme Council
Information and Communication Technologies Authority
Competition Authority
Board of Advertisement


Radio and Television Supreme Council (RTÜK)
Radyo ve Televizyon Üst Kurulu
Üniversiteler Mah. 1597. Cad. No: 13 Bilkent
06800 Ankara TURKEY
Phone: +90 312 2975352
Fax: +90 312 2975459