The 15th Plenary Assembly of the Mediterranean Network of Regulatory Authorities was successfully held in Limassol, Cyprus, on 24-25 October 2013, upon the invitation of the Cyprus Radio Television Authority (CRTA), holding the Vice-Presidency of the Network, and under the Presidency of Mr Carlos Magno, President of the Entitade Regulatora para a Comunicação Social (ERC), Portugal, and President of the Network.

Twenty regulatory authorities attended the Plenary Assembly, representing eighteen countries from the broader Mediterranean basin. For the first time, Moldova attended with 2 Board Members of the Coordinating Council of Audiovisual, under the capacity of guests.

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) actively participated in the aforesaid meeting through its Vice-President, Mr. Claudio Cappon, who in fact unraveled the first thematic session with an opportune presentation on the position of the public broadcasters today.

At the end of the Meeting, the Gibraltar Regulatory Authority (GRA) joined the Network under the status of Member. The MNRA is now composed of twenty-four Member Authorities deriving from twenty-one states from the Mediterranean region.

The closing of the Meeting brought about the handing over of the Presidency of the Network to Mr Andreas Petrides, Executive Chairman of the Cyprus Radio Television Authority (CRTA), whilst the Vice-Presidency was entrusted to Mr Hamoud Ould M’ Hamed, President of the Haute Autorité de la presse et de l’audiovisuel (HAPA).

The next annual meeting of the Network will take place in 2014 in Mauritania, upon the invitation of the HAPA.